City Council Chamber, 1st floor, City Hall

May 28, 2019

4:00 p.m.


Location: City Council Chamber, City Hall – St. James Building; 117 West Duval Street


In attendance: Council Members Aaron Bowman (President), Greg Anderson, John Crescimbeni, Al Ferraro, Terrance Freeman, Reginald Gaffney, Bill Gulliford, Tommy Hazouri, Jim Love, Joyce Morgan, Sam Newby, Matt Schellenberg, Randy White, Scott Wilson


Also: Peggy Sidman, Paige Johnston, Shannon Eller – Office of General Counsel; Kyle Billy and Kim Taylor – Council Auditor’s Office; Carol Owens, Jessica Matthews and – Legislative Services Division; Steve Cassada – Council Staff Services;  – Council Research Division; Sam Mousa, Leeann Krieg, Chiquita Moore and Jordan Elsbury – Mayor’s Office; Bill Killingsworth and Folks Huxford – Planning and Development Department; Joey Greive – Finance and Administration Department;  Yvonne P. Mitchell – Research Division;


Meeting Convened: 4:01 p.m.                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                     


President Bowman called the meeting to order and asked for the committee chairs’ reports.


TEU Committee: Council Member Ferraro reviewed the actions of the committee from its meeting.


NCSPHS Committee: Council Member Newby reviewed the actions of the committee from its meeting.


Finance Committee: Council Member Anderson reviewed the actions of the committee from its meeting.


Rules Committee: Council Member Hazouri reviewed the actions of the committee from its meeting.


LUZ Committee: Council Member Schellenberg reviewed the actions of the committee from its meeting.

President Bowman announced that four (4) resolutions were scheduled for presentation. He congratulated Council President Designate Wilson and Council Vice President Designate Hazouri on their election as the 2019-2020 City Council leaders. President Bowman mentioned the noticed meeting on Thursday, May 30, for the presentation of the JAA Annual Report. The meeting begins at 11:30 a.m. in the Lynwood Roberts Room. Council President-Designate, Council Vice President-Designate, and new Council Members were reminded of the mandatory orientation training scheduled for June 5th -7th. President Bowman provided an overview of the schedule. Ethics, Sunshine Laws, and a presentation from the Office of General Counsel is on Wednesday, June 5. A mock Council meeting, a presentation from the Auditor’s Office, and discussion on Public Policy are topics on Thursday, June 6. Training on Friday, June 7 will be held on the campus of Jacksonville University. Some of the topics include consolidated government, the Charter, independent authorities, and constitutional officers.


Council Member Crescimbeni will offer a floor amendment to 2019-357 (resolution honoring and commending Janet Owens) to add recent accolades to the language. Also, he suggested adding resolutions to the agenda to assist with managing time.

Council Member Schellenberg requested his name be added to 2019-423 (resolution honoring and commending 1st responders). President Bowman directed Council Members to notify Legislative Services Division should they want their names added to the bill.

Chief Kirk Wilson expressed his appreciation to the Council for their cooperation and support over the past nine years. He shared what he cherishes the most is the community walks where he was able to get to know Council members on a personal note. In response to Chief Wilson’s comments, several of the Council members provided words of appreciation for his service and commitment to the City of Jacksonville.

Meeting adjourned: 4:28 p.m.


Minutes: Yvonne P. Mitchell, Council Research Division


5.29.19     Posted 4:00 p.m.


Tape:   City Council agenda meeting 5.28.19 – LSD