City Council Chamber, 1st floor, City Hall

January 8, 2019

4:00 p.m.


Location: City Council Chamber, City Hall – St. James Building; 117 West Duval Street


In attendance: Council Members Aaron Bowman (President), Greg Anderson, Danny Becton, Lori Boyer, Anna Lopez Brosche, John Crescimbeni, Al Ferraro, Terrance Freeman, Reginald Gaffney, Bill Gulliford, Tommy Hazouri, Jim Love, Joyce Morgan, Sam Newby, Ju’Coby Pittman, Matt Schellenberg, Randy White, Scott Wilson


Also: Peggy Sidman, Paige Johnston, Shannon Eller, Susan Grandin and Stephen Durden – Office of General Counsel; Kyle Billy and Kim Taylor – Council Auditor’s Office; Carol Owens, Jessica Matthews, Adri Maguire-Segui – Legislative Services Division; Steve Cassada – Council Staff Services; Jeff Clements – Council Research Division; Sam Mousa, Brian Hughes, Leeann Krieg and Chiquita Moore – Mayor’s Office; John Pappas – Public Works Department; Carla Miller – Ethics Office; Bill Killingsworth and Folks Huxford – Planning and Development Department; Kirk Wendland – Office of Economic Development; Kurt Wilson – Fire and Rescue Department; James Richardson – Environmental Protection Board


Meeting Convened: 4:00 p.m.


President Bowman called the meeting to order and said that public comment on the Confederate monument will be held in the usual public comment period and not moved later in the meeting as discussed at the last meeting. In recognition of the upcoming City elections, he has asked Deputy General Counsel Peggy Sidman to re-distribute the City’s rules on political activity in City Hall to council members and staff. He also asked council members to please be vigilant about complying with the policy requiring all visitors to the City Council suite to be accompanied to and from the reception area at all times.


The President asked for the committee chairs’ reports.


TEU Committee: Council Member Ferraro reviewed the actions of the committee from its meeting. 2018-Gaffney asked that 2018-774 (ORD Granting Appl of GEL Corporation for Initial CON for GEL Recycling Jax Construction & Demolition Debris & Yard Trash Processing & Recycling Facility) to be re-referred to the TEU Committee. Council Member Crescimbeni asked for 2018-773 (ORD Granting Appl of ACET Recycling, LLC for Initial CON for the ACET Recycling, LLC Clean Debris Recycling Facility)  to be re-referred if 2018-774 is. On bills 2018-791(ORD Approp $83,022.50 from Tree Protection & Related Expenses Trust Fund for Mandarin Road tree planting) and 2018-792 (ORD Approp $139,436.00 from Tree Protection & Related Expenses Trust Fund for Springfield tree planting) the TEU amendment will be moved.


NCSPHS Committee: Council Member Newby reviewed the actions of the committee from its meeting.

On 2018-843 (ORD Approp $15,866.13 from Kids Hope Alliance Trust Fund for Potential Mini-Grant Awards of up to $5,000) the Finance amendment will be moved.


Finance Committee: Council Member Anderson reviewed the actions of the committee from its meeting.


Rules Committee: Council Member Hazouri reviewed the actions of the committee from its meeting.


LUZ Committee: Council Member Schellenberg reviewed the actions of the committee from its meeting. On 2018-538 (amending the Zoning Code re: uses permitted by right and by exception), Council Member Crescimbeni asked that the bill be postponed for another cycle to consider input from the Jacksonville Automobile Dealers Association. The public hearing will be opened and continued.


Mr. Schellenberg reported that the second resolution presentation to Haley Bujeda will not take place and will be rescheduled to another meeting.


Council Member Becton announced that he will pull 2018-594 (Adopting the City Council's 1, -3, & 5-year Strategic Plan) from the Consent Agenda.


Meeting adjourned: 4:17 p.m.


Minutes: Jeff Clements, Council Research Division

904-630-1405   jeffc@coj.ent

1.8.19     Posted 4:30 p.m.


Tape:   City Council agenda meeting 1.8.19 – LSD